Who we are


The Equal Rights Coalition: a collaborative mechanism to progress LGBTI rights across the globe.


The Equal Rights Coalition (ERC) is an intergovernmental body of 43 Member States dedicated to the protection of the rights of LGBTI persons. The ERC advances the human rights of LGBTI persons and promotes inclusive development, in both member and non-member countries, by engaging with civil society organizations, multilateral agencies, and activists from all over the world.

The 43 Member States of the ERC are: Albania; Argentina; Australia; Austria; Belgium; Brazil; Cabo Verde; Canada; Chile; Costa Rica; Cyprus; the Czech Republic; Denmark; Ecuador; Estonia; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Honduras; Iceland; Ireland; Israel; Italy; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Malta; Mexico; Montenegro; the Netherlands; New Zealand; North Macedonia; Norway; Portugal; Serbia; Slovenia; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; Ukraine; United Kingdom; United States; and Uruguay.

The ERC is co-chaired by two Member States, who coordinate the Coalition for a two-year term, before handing over to the next Co-Chairs. For the 2022-24 term, the ERC Co-Chairs are Germany and Mexico. The State Co-Chairs work in partnership with Civil Society Co-Chairs, who for this term are:

Fundación Arcoiris

Governing bodies

Governance of the Coalition occurs through the Executive Committee and Coordinating Committee, and governance of ERC civil society takes place in the CSO Core Group. 

Thematic areas

The substantive work of the ERC is carried out in the Thematic Groups, which meet monthly to discuss thematic issues, share best practice, and produce outputs to help progress LGBTI rights.

ERC organisation chart

ERC Executive Committee:

TG State Co-Chairs, ERC Co-Chairs & CSO Co-Chairs, plus UNAIDS & World Bank.

ERC Coordinating Committee:

All 43 Member States, ERC CSO Co-Chairs and TG CSO Co-Chairs

Member State Co-Chairs

  • Germany
  • Mexico

Civil Society Co-Chairs:

  • LSVD
  • Fundación Arcoiris
Donor Coordination

Donor Coordination

USA & MOLI and Synergía IHR

International Diplomacy

International Diplomacy

Netherlands & OutRight

National Laws & Policies

National Laws & Policies

[TBC] & Rainbow Railroad

SDGs and 2030 Agenda

SDGs & Agenda 2030

UK & AFDA and Edge Effect

ERC CSO Core Group:

Up to 30 members, including all CSO Co-Chairs

ERC CSO Network:

All CSOs on Thematic Groups, and other interested CSOs from Member and Non-Member States

slider arrow right
slider arrow left


Banning So-Called ‘Conversion Therapies’

09 April 2024


Eliminating Harmful Practices against and Promoting Human Rights Protection of Intersex People

29 September 2023


Using CEDAW to pursue the decriminalisation of LBTQ people: promising avenues and developments

12 June 2023


Buenos Aires 2022 Conference Report

30 November 2022


ERC Pre-Conference Report 2022

08 September 2022

Research Briefing

Anti-Gender Movement Background Paper

08 September 2022


International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia and Transphobia 2024: Declaration by the Co-chairs on behalf of the Equal Rights Coalition

14 May 2024


Equal Rights Coalition launches its Secretariat, hosted by ILGA World

08 May 2024


ERC statement on the legalization of Same-Sex Marriage and Homoparental Adoption in Greece

26 February 2024


Statement by the Equal Rights Coalition on the Russian Supreme Court judgment infringing LGBTIQ+ people’s basic human rights 

18 December 2023


ERC statement on the decriminalization of same-sex activity between men in Mauritius

17 October 2023


ERC Statement on the SDG Summit, September 2023

20 September 2023