ERC Statement on Russia

24 November 2022

Statement by the Equal Rights Coalition on the ban on the discussion and sharing of information about LGBTIQ+ people and their human rights in the Russian Federation

The Equal Rights Coalition expresses grave concerns about the legislation to broaden the ban on any discussion and sharing of information about lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender persons and their human rights, by the State Duma of the Russian Federation. The previous law “on the propaganda of non-traditional sexual relations among minors” (the so-called Anti-Propaganda Law) from 2013 has been extensively examined and condemned by human rights experts as discriminatory, violating the right to freedom of expression, and leading to an increase in hate speech, hate crimes, and abuse, including against children.

The so-called anti-propaganda law is a further attempt by the Russian authorities to create a climate of fear and intimidation, and restrict the freedom of expression of all Russians. It follows other repressive legislation, such as legislation that criminalises those who are deemed to be spreading “false information” about the armed forces.

These legislative amendments infringe even further on human rights, impacting the human rights of all in Russia. In effect, these extensions of the so-called anti-propaganda law mean that any act or public mention of same-sex couples is functionally criminalized. As the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights noted, exclusion, stigmatization and discrimination of any group within a society is corrosive, is a root cause of violence, and has a negative impact on society as a whole.

The Equal Rights Coalition aligns itself with the statement by the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights. The Equal Rights Coalition expresses its support to civil society and local communities in the Russian Federation and the wider region.

Equal Rights Coalition members who are co-signatories:

Albania; Australia; Austria; Belgium; Canada; Chile; Costa Rica; Czechia; Denmark; Ecuador;; Estonia; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Iceland; Ireland; Italy; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Malta; The Netherlands; New Zealand; North Macedonia; Norway; Portugal; Slovenia; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; United Kingdom; United States; Ukraine

Category Statement, Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, English, Spanish, 2022

Download statement

Share On: