Statement by Equal Rights Coalition on Ending Forced Anal Exams

16 May 2018

The undersigned Equal Rights Coalition (ERC) members welcome recent global and national developments outlined below that aim to end the practice of forced anal exams targeting gay and bisexual men and transgender women on account of their real or perceived sexual orientation or gender identity. ERC members also note with deep concern that individuals are still forced to undergo such exams.

ERC members recognize international human rights and medical bodies that have condemned such exams, including: an October 2017 resolution from the General Assembly of the World Medical Association; multiple statements from the World Health Organization (WHO) such as the WHO Director-General’s December 2017 Human Rights Day statement; the 2016 statement by the Independent Forensic Expert Group, the 2015 joint statement by 12 UN agencies; and conclusions from the United Nations Special Rapporteur on Torture, and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, and the UN Committee Against Torture.

ERC members also welcome developments toward upholding human dignity and ending the practice of forced anal exams at the national level. Such developments include a March 2018 Kenyan Court of Appeal ruling that subjecting men suspected of being gay to forced anal exams violates Kenya’s constitution. National medical associations in LebanonTunisia and Kenya have also criticized the practice and urged that it be discontinued.

ERC members urge all governments to end the practice of forced anal exams on individuals based on their real or perceived sexual orientation or gender identity. ERC members encourage the United Nations and other international organizations to provide technical assistance as needed to support governments to end this inhumane practice.


Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay

Category Statement, All, English, French, Spanish, 2018

Download statement

Share On: